Equality and Diversity

The CCG's Commitment

NHS Scarborough and Ryedale Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) believes in fairness and equity, and above all values diversity in all matters as a commissioner of health services, and as an employer.

We are committed to eliminating unlawful discrimination and promoting equality of opportunity in the way we commission healthcare services and creating a workforce that is broadly representative of the population we serve.  This commitment is supported by ensuring meaningful engagement and consultation with service users, carers, local communities, stakeholders and staff.

There are various pieces of legislation, toolkits and standards which the CCG is required to comply with to support the CCG in meeting its commitments.

Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 came into force on 1 October 2010. The Act provides a legal framework to protect the rights of individuals and advance equality of opportunity for all.

The Equality and Human Right Commission publishes answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about the Equality Act 2010 on their website.

Protected Characteristics

Protected characteristics are the personal attributes which are protected by the Equality Act.  These are listed below.  Further details of each protected characteristic can be found on the Equality and Human Rights Commission's website.

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership (only in relation to the requirement to have due regard to the need to eliminate discrimination)
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Religion or belief (or lack of belief)
  • Race, including ethnic or national origin, colour or nationality
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Public Sector Equality Duty

As a NHS organisation, NHS Scarborough and Ryedale Clinical Commissioning Group is subject to the Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED) which is part of the Equality Act.  In summary those subject to the equality duty must, in the exercise of their functions, have due regard to the need to:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation and other conduct prohibited by the Act.
  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and those who do not.
  • Foster good relations between people who share a protected characteristic and those who do not.

The PSED advises this should be achieved by:

  • Removing or minimising disadvantages suffered by people due to their protected characteristics.
  • Taking steps to meet the needs of people from protected groups where these are different from the needs of other people.
  • Encouraging people from protected groups to participate in public life or in other activities where their participation is disproportionately low.

Further information about the PSED can be found on the Equality and Human Rights Commission's website

Equality Act Codes of Practice

To support the Equality Act, the Equality and Human Rights Commission has published Codes of Practice which sets out clearly and precisely what the legislation mean.  These became law in April 2011.

Equality Delivery System

NHS England produced the Equality Delivery System (EDS) toolkit in July 2011 to support NHS organisations improve the services they provide for their local communities and provide better working environments, free of discrimination, for those who work in the NHS, while meeting the requirements of the Equality Act 2010.  This toolkit was refreshed in 2013 - EDS2.

At the heart of the EDS2 is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. It is against these outcomes that performance is analysed, graded and action determined.

The four EDS2 Goals are:

  1. Better health outcomes.
  2. Improved patient access and experience.
  3. A representative and supported workforce.
  4. Inclusive leadership.

For each EDS outcome, there are four grades to choose from:

  • Underdeveloped - People from all protected groups fare poorly compared with people overall OR evidence is not available
  • Developing - People from only some protected groups fare as well as people overall
  • Achieving - People from most protected groups fare as well as people overall
  • Excelling - People from all protected groups fare as well as people overall

The latest version of the CCG's self-assessment against the toolkit and action plan is available on the CCG website here (Equality Delivery System - CCG's Self-Assessment)

Accessible Information Standard

Form August 2016 all organisations that provided NHS care are legally required to follow the Accessible Information Standard.  The standard aims to make sure that people who have a disability, impairment or sensory loss get information that they can access and understand, and any communication support that they need from health and care services.

Further information about the standard and how the CCG is making information more accessible is available here.